Mortgage Protection Insurance (MPI) Scheme for Local Authority Borrowers

Policyholder update

As part of this update the Minister for Housing, Local Government and Heritage made the decision that with effect from 1st January 2023, the Scheme will provide Life Cover only for new MPI policyholders.

Existing policyholders, will be given the opportunity to opt-out of Disability Benefit on an annual basis. This means that if you don’t opt-out of Disability Benefit in 2023, we will contact you in 2024 when the opt-out period is available.

What do we mean by opt-out?

IMPORTANT: If you choose to opt-out of Disability Benefit, you may be able to arrange this cover yourself on the open market however the costs may be higher, and your application will be subject to the relevant insurers' acceptance criteria and underwriting terms.

WARNING: If you choose to opt-out you will not be able to re-apply for Disability Benefit under the Scheme in the future.

How do you opt-out?

  1. Complete the Disability Benefit Opt-Out Form below
  2. Send the completed Disability Benefit Opt-Out Form to the Local Authority that administers your Loan (contact details below) before 31st October 2023
  3. The Local Authority will process the opt-out request, removing the Disability Benefit and adjusting the premium from 1st January 2024
  4. The Local Authority will confirm the opt-out to the policyholder directly by post.

Opt-Out Form

Please note: If you are Joint Borrowers under the Scheme, you both must complete and sign the Disability Benefit Opt-Out Form to be eligible for opting out of Disability Benefit.

Your Local Authority contact details


  • Carlow County Council - Housing Department, County Buildings, Athy Road, Carlow, R93 E7R7
  • Dublin City - Loans, Sales and Grants, Block 2, Floor 2, Wood Quay, Civic Offices,  Dublin, D07 RF3F
  • Dún Laoghaire & Rathdown - Una McCann, Loans Section, Housing Department, County Hall, Marine Road, Dún Laoghaire, A96 K6C9
  • Fingal - Housing Loans Section, Housing Department, Fingal County Council, Civic Offices, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15, D15 W638
  • Kildare County Council - MPI: Housing Loans, Áras Chill Dara, Devoy Park, Naas, Co Kildare, W91 X77F
  • Kilkenny County Council - Housing Loans, County Hall, John Street, Kilkenny, R95 A39T
  • Laois County Council - Finance Department, Housing Loans Section, Laois County Council, Áras An Chontae, JFL Avenue, Portlaoise, Co. Laois, R32 EHP9
  • Longford County Council - Housing Loans Section, Longford County Council, Áras An Chontae, Great Water Street, Longford, N39 NH56
  • Louth County Council - Housing Loans, Drogheda Civic Offices, Fair Street, Drogheda, Co. Louth, A92 P440
  • Meath County Council - Finance Section, Buvinda House, Dublin Road, Navan, Co Meath, C15 Y291
  • Offaly County Council - Housing Department, Áras An Chontae, Charleville Road, Tullamore, Co Offaly R35 F893
  • South Dublin County Council - South Dublin County Council, Loan Accounts and Sales Scheme Section, County Hall, Tallaght, Dublin 24, D24 A3XC
  • Westmeath County Council - Finance Department, Áras An Chontae, Mount Street, Mullingar, N91 FH4N
  • Wexford County Council - Mortgage Section, Wexford County Council, County Hall, Carricklawn, Wexford, Y35 WY93
  • Wicklow County Council - County Buildings, Whitegates, Wicklow Town, A67 FW96


  • Clare County Council - Housing Department, Áras Contae an Chláir, New Road, Ennis, Clare, V95 DXP2
  • Cork City - Housing Loans & Grants Section, Cork City Council, Ground Floor, City Hall, Anglesea Street, Cork T12 T997
  • Cork County - Purchasing Options Section, Housing, Cork County Council, Floor 4 (Extension), County Hall, Carrigrohane Road, Cork, T12 R2NC
  • Kerry County Council - County Buildings, Rathass, Tralee, Co. Kerry
  • Limerick - Accounts Receivable, County Hall, Dooradoyle, Limerick, V94 WV78
  • Tipperary County Council - Revenue Office, Finance Department, Tipperary County Council, Civic Offices, Emmet Street, Clonmel, Co Tipperary E91 N512
  • Waterford City & County - Michael Quigley, Finance Department, Civic Offices, Davitt's Quay, Dungarvan, Co Waterford


  • Galway City - City Hall, College Road, Galway, H91 X4K8
  • Galway County - Áras An Chontae, Prospect Hill, Galway, H91 H6KX
  • Leitrim County Council - Housing Loans, Finance Department, Áras An Chontae, St Georges Terrace, Carrick-on-Shannon, Co Leitrim, N41 PF67
  • Mayo County Council - Housing Loans Section, Finance Department, Áras An Chontae, Castlebar Co. Mayo F23 WF90
  • Roscommon County Council - Roscommon County Council, Áras An Chontae, Roscommon, F42 VR98
  • Sligo County Council - Finance Loans Dept. County Hall, Riverside, Sligo, F91 Y763


  • Cavan County Council - Johnston Centre, Farnham Street, Cavan H12 C9K1
  • Donegal County Council - Housing Loans Office, County House, The Diamond, Lifford, Co. Donegal, F93 Y622
  • Monaghan County Council - Finance Section, County Offices, The Glen, Monaghan, H18 YT50

Information about the Scheme

Win a €500 Blue Book Voucher!

We are running an exclusive competition for Scheme policyholders, simply click here to complete your details and be in with a chance to win!

Click here to enter

The Scheme is underwritten by New Ireland Assurance Company plc.

New Ireland Assurance Company plc is regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland. A member of Bank of Ireland Group.